My Pc is making strange noises...please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mezik

Hey this is my first time posting and i am not that well up on Pc's. I was just wondering if you colud help me. I play world of warcraft and the majority of the time when i play my pc makes a noise as if it is the noise when i turn it off. It only seems to be when i move my character on world of warcraft. It can also happen when i open up the Internet I don't know what is happeneing here.

I have scanned with Norton 2006, used O & O defrag and it is still doing the same i would br grateful of this help if anyone knows what to do thankyou. :)

Noises

Yeah it makes a noise like a single beep but not so much a beep that you hear like a droning beep i don't know where it is coming from. But when i hear this noise my pc freezes for about 15 seconds and then within 5 seconds of it working it will keep doing it over and over again. The only way it stops is if i just leave the pc alone for say 5 minutes and then it goes fine.

Power management? Is it attempting to go on standby? Check under power options in control panel and change standby to never and turn off hard disks to never.

If it's not that then it may be the HDD shutting down due to overheating. You say there's a beep? Or is it a click? When it returns to normal is there a whirring sound of the HDD spinning back up?

Back up your data immediately, your hard drive is dying (already dead really).

Yes seriously.

Oh

Sorry how do i backup my data i am know i am useless when it comes to these things, thanks for the help by the way guys. =]

Whatever you want saved burn to a cd or dvd or transfer over the network to another computer. Or to a different hard drive.