My RAM behaves weird

Status
Not open for further replies.

hahas

Hi this is my first time here! Well, I have some problems with my ram memory and i found out that this is the best place in search results about this kind of matters.

So the problem is that since last night, my laptop has this problem: the screen totally freeze after 10 minutes or at ramdom time. Then the pc opens with black screen and no respond. I desided to check the ram and everything seems ok, but now, though sometimes it starts normal, it still freeze or crash.

Anyway I found out what's wrong: i have 2 memory slots, first is 256mb from an unknown copmany and second is 512mb from kingston. The second one is working fine, because when i removed the first one there was no crash. So the first one seems to have problem. It sometimes works, sometimes not at all. Also I did a memtest with the first memory installed and got this window:

memj.jpg

while a successful test should complete 100% without any errors, you can see there that there's unlimited errors at 3,9% with the same message always.

So... I guess I have to replace it? But is there any way to do something before I get to that conclusion? Fix it somehow? Or is it temp????? What do you think?

I use Windows XP sp3

Thanks in advance, cool site ;) (btw this "links are not allowed for rookies" is not really nessesary)

Hi hahas,
its interesting that it boots and you can get 10 min +/- and then it freezes. laptops get notoriously hot due to space restrictions.and not being easily accessible get loaded with dust. I assume that this ram has been in the machine for a while? and are you sure that it is compatible with your machine? I would open it up and remove all dust, make sure your exhaust fan is working, and re-seat the ram modules. see if you get a better result and if its heat related. also put the larger module in the first memory slot. see if this changes how it operates.