New comp!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CMH

Okay, I've been building my computer case for a couple of months now (click on link for details/pics).

Its time to fill it up with some fun stuff!!

I'm going for a build centered on the DFI MI P55 T36 motherboard. Well, the whole computer case is built just for a mini-ITX motherboard, and this is about the best you can get.

I will take suggestions for motherboards, but bear in mind that the board has to be a mini-ITX with PCIEx16, and space around the CPU for a Thermalright Venomous X (which disqualifies the Zotac H55 board).

The rest of the system (comment pls!!):

DFI P55 T36
i5 750 or i7 860 <--- someone please talk me into buying the better one :D
4GB (2x2) 1600mhx Gskill ECO cl9 <---- only cl9 can be found in the ECO series here. Also req normal height DDR3 RAM (no Corsair Dominator there). Had a thread on this.
Gigabyte GTX260 SOC <---- Digging from my current comp. Recently bought, so will not be replacing this.
2x 64GB SSD (in RAID 0) <----- Thinking of the Corsair Nova, but will take suggestions. Intel/Vertex LE is above budget.
Antec True Power Trio 650W <--- PSU must be 14cm long due to case constraints
Thermalright Venomous X <---- Will change to a better one if there is. Max 12cm fan due to case constraints.
Sata DVDRW

Hi CMH!

I would suggest the i5 750 purely based on price / performance ratio.

As long as you're not using your computer for heavily multithreaded applications where hyperthreading can be a distinct advantage, the i5 750 is the CPU of choice.

I like how the case is coming out; props to TC for that Project Whisper case haha. Seems the little shuttle-style cases are becoming more and more popular these days. Not a fan of them myself but i kinda seeing how much stuff builders can stuff in there lol. Anyways, an i5-powered mini-ITX would be nice; future-proofed.

Someone needs to build a shuttle with liquid cooling :D