No power

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to the computer world, and need help. My HP Pavilion is only a few months old, 2.66 GHz Pentium 4. Last time that it was on, i was on stand by and I shut it down, now it won't turn on at all. There is no power to the computer, thus, it won't turn on. the light in the back of the computer that used to be on when it is off is no longer there. please help....

if there is a power switch on the back of the unit, make sure it is on, make sure the voltage selector is set to the proper line voltage for your region. Also check the Power Supply's fuse if it is accessible, if not, have a qualified technician check it(I say this because you say you are new to computers, so I wouldn't advise that you go tearing in to the PSU)

While you're at it, check the power cable itself, disconnect it from the unit and the wall and reconnect it. If you have another computer or anything else that uses the samwe cable(fairly common these days) then swap it out, as it might be faulty.

Oh, and just to cover all the bases, check the outlet itself if you haven't already.

Thankx Masque & StormBringer for your replies

I have went on-line and and did the basic steps such as check cables, power surge, etc., I have opened up the CPU and check if the Motherboard is connected, and everything seem fine. I suspect that the power supply of my computer (I don't know what it's called, it's the thing that the power cable is connected to) is down because when I attempt to turn the computer on, nothing happens, no sound, no light, nothing... Is there anyway to know if the power supply is still running? Could it be the Motherbaord that broke down instead?

P.S. To StormBringer: Even though it is true that I am new to computers, but I am a fast learner, and willing to "tear" the computer down to find out what happens (well I've already opened the CPU up anyway.) Oh, yeah, the power switch was still on. If you suspect anything, please let me know...