No signal on monitor, no power to keyboard or mouse...HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie andknow very little about computers except how to use them. My PC (VPR Matrix 1800 - Windows XP) was running completely fine with the exception of losing time on the clock for the last couple of days and now all of the sudden I have no signal to the monitor and no pwer to the keyboard or mouse. I have switched out the monitors, keyboard and mouse and they still don't work (they work with my other PC). Also, there is no beep when powering up.

Any advice that an ameteur could handle? I have opened the case and it seems that fans are working, everything is in place and attached and it's not super dusty or anything inside.

I would appreciate any help - I know it's not always easy helping an ameteur but I would really appreciate it. I just don't have the money to spend on taking it in somewhere right now.

Thanks!

Welcome to TechSpot

Before you start spending money, check the battery on the motherboard. Careful you don't break anything when you remove/replace it.
While you have it open, check that all the fans on the CPU and in the powersupply are working. Overheating will cause boot-refusal or worse!

Thanks realblackstuff...

Fans are working properly both on the mobo and on the powersupply. I just popped the battery out and am off to buy a replacement.

Thanks!

And I do agree.....everyday is a wonderful for a Guinness! :)

bbarefoot said:
I'm a newbie andknow very little about computers except how to use them. My PC (VPR Matrix 1800 - Windows XP) was running completely fine with the exception of losing time on the clock for the last couple of days and now all of the sudden I have no signal to the monitor and no pwer to the keyboard or mouse. I have switched out the monitors, keyboard and mouse and they still don't work (they work with my other PC). Also, there is no beep when powering up.