No signal with DP on wake up from sleep

By scubaslim ยท 21 replies
Jan 8, 2018
Post New Reply
  1. I have an XB241H G-Sync monitor. It works perfectly when using HDMI...

but with Displayport, it works fine when freshly powering up the computer. It works fine when waking up from hibernation....

but when waking up from sleep, which is my preferred method, the monitor will power up, the splash screen will pop up, then "no signal"... The PC is on, as it can play music and if I plug in a different monitor, it's working...

I have tried the following:
    lowering the Hz
    swapping DP cables
    using High performance mode
    turning off link state
    making sure connections are tight
    switching to different DP ports on my GTX 970

any ideas

2. Cycloid Torus

Cycloid Torus Stone age computing. Posts: 3,398   +861

I'm no expert on this stuff, and I hope others can offer a better answer...but the problem is "sleep" - the combination of motherboard, RAM, video card and monitor just does not work as it should as it just does not fit precisely into the 'sleep' designed in the OS. Possibilities include too little voltage to RAM when in sleep due to the defined energy cap for this specification. Microsoft offers these ideas about how to fix the issue.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...hoot-problems-waking-computer-from-sleep-mode

3. jobeard

jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 11,794   +1,252

Most interesting - - performs correctly after hibernate but not sleep. Hibernate is the more drastic of the two and shuts off as much power as possible.

The obvious workaround is to use hibernate :grin:

4. Cycloid Torus

The idea here is that the RAM is not viable storage for the machine state - while the HDD, etc is. So what could prevent RAM from keeping its memory. My vote is bad design - I think there is an artificial cap - "one watt" - lurking in the specification for 'sleep' - but I suppose that it could be software/drivers/firmware. Maybe addressed in a BIOS update?