not-a-virus

Status
Not open for further replies.

sharpeye72

Hey everyone, this is my first time on this site and im very much hoping someone may be able to help me with my problem.
I have recently upgraded my Zone Alarm protection and even though my older version could not detect a problem, the upgrade has found 2.

not-a-virus:Risk Tool Win32.reboot.f
not-a-virus:Client-IRC Win32.mIRC.617

The first is giving zone alarm treatment an error, it has found it several times now and the delete option wont work, it changes to delete on reboot, then i reboot but the little bugger is stuborn and wont delete.
The second has only just become apparent which is now why im here.

The file path for the first one is

C\WINDOWS\TEMP\$24657D35.t$m

This does not exist!!!

I've tried a scan with AVG on this folder as a second opinion but this finds nothing.

The only symptom I can really offer is when I power up my pc, when windows has finished loading and the machine is ready to use, it reboots. The next time its finished initializing I get a "systme has recovered from a fatal error" and when I send a report it gives me details of a moden driver thats out of date, or more recently something to do with spyware doctor.

As this is my only symptom, the best way to stop this happening is I never shut my pc down so it never needs to start up (not very good for the electricity bill !!!!)

The path for the second one is

D\Program Files\mIRC\mirc.exe

Whenever I try to use mIRC, Zone Alarm sees this as a problem anyway so removal of this program is my best guess for that problem.

Any help with these items would be greatly appreciated.

Sharpeye :D

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.