PC screen does not go on

Status
Not open for further replies.

Freak

Hi all.

Ive been fixing and playing around with pc's for almoust 2 years. What i know is what i lurnt myself. Yet i have no IT traing. But i know a few tricks or so. But theres this one problem i cannot solve. Ive got a thurd pc but 4 some reason if i switch it on the screen does not go on. The cpu fan and screen card fan gous on but no beep from pc its not psu ive installed a new one. Other ram, prosessor,hdd and still the same problem. I cant c that its the mainboard cos all power consuming devices get power.

Please help. Ime at a dead end.
Regards Willem

I am having the same problem. I start the computer, the computer boots, the monitor is working but nothing on it. The computer is working perfectly but nothing on the screen. I can even hear the windows start sound, but the monitor shows nothing.

So, neither of you have tinkered with the other components? You've not moved/reseated your cpu at all?
You get a green or yellow light on your monitor?
If you take your gfx card out does it report any post beeps?
What OS are you using?

Zadman: are you using windows 7?

Ive got xp. Ive replaced the cpu. Ive tried using the onboard grafics ive tried a nother screen card. Still nothen. Ime thingking maby motherboard? Dont know.

When using the onboard graphics - was that with the other graphics card removed? Newer mobo/bios auto-detect the monitor/graphics availability. Many years ago it took printed user manuals and counting keystrokes to blindly navigate the bios to return it to a working graphics card.

Reset the bios is another thought.

Ive got xp. Ive replaced the cpu. Ive tried using the onboard grafics ive tried a nother screen card. Still nothen. Ime thingking maby motherboard? Dont know.

Double-check your cpu mate, make sure the cpu AND fan are seated correctly. An incorrectly seated cpu/fan can lead to a no-post.