Phenom II X4 960T multiplier overclocking

Spruce

Hi

I'm quite new to overclocking and been trying out som overclocking settings back and forth, also tried unlocking the 2 extra cores - but for gaming it's not too necessary afaik, now I only got the multiplier increased and disabled Turbo Core, my goal is not to push it to breaking point, been running at 4 GHz, right now 3.6 GHz. Use aftermarket cooler, nothing fancy, Hyper TX3 and two 2000RPM 120mm fans, one at front and one at back. 4 GHz rased the CPU temp to about 52-55 when playing Battlefield 3. My question is; Do I make a big mistake increasing only the multiplier and leaving the other settings on Auto?

It's fine to just leave everything at auto if you change the multiplier :) then again if/when you change the BUS speed you will also have to change the mem.speed (lower it a bit) because when you increase the BUS speed then the mem.speed also goes up = bluescreen / no boot. So use the BUS to finalize the overclock and the Multiplier (and vCore voltage) to do the main overclock with even tho you will need a better cooler for that.

Also a good thing to do is to make a "baseline" and note all default values (vCore, mem.voltage, bus, multiplier, mem.speed), to do that you can use (for ex.) CPU-Z...when that is done change everything manually so that all the values are the same as when they are on auto...then you can go and overclock from there.

Don't forget to have good airflow in and out from your case when you overclock! Here is a small "guide" that you could maybe find something interesting in.

So a good baseline is simply using the voltages set when you run on auto with stock settings and then work your way up by increasing multiplier until prime95 starts failing or you get bsod, and then increase voltages until it's stable?
Which voltages should be set to manual and how much should I increase voltages at a time before retest?
I'm not planning to increase the bus speed atm when I got a Black Edition CPU.