Problems with Hijack This and C Cleaner

Status
Not open for further replies.

sistershandy

Hi
I am really worried about my computer. Recently it has been shutting itself down randomly, but seem to have resolved this problem by updating a modem driver. However, I now have a problem accessing both Hijack THis and C Cleaner. Everytime I go near them the computer kind of half logs off, and won't allow me to open the programs. I cannot access sites realted to these progrms wither, as the internet just shuts down! I have tried accessing them to rename the files, but again, the partial logging off thing happens.
I did actually manage to run both programs in safe mode (after numerous attempts) and have attached the Hijack THis log in a separate thread (I am new to this and posted it in the wrong place).
https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic74275.html
Should I be worried???
Please help!
PS I have had to write Hijack This as two words, o that my computer will accept it!

Have you run a good antivirus, antispyware system? Have you run your Windows XP disc in repair mode? Have you tried going to Add and Remove Software to remove both HiJack and CCleaner? What protection systems do you have installed?
Please describe the brand and model of computer, as well as the configuration.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

It sounds like you have a real nasty infection.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly, or in your case, as many as you can.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, let me know the results of the AVG Antirootkit scan.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of sistershandy only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

Still having problems!

Hi Howard