random BOOT FAILURE SYSTEM HALTED error among other problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
ok guys, i apologize in advance for the long post, if you dont want to read it then dont, just ignore it... if you do want to read it the reason its so long is because i wanted to give the full picture so you could get all the history on the problem(s) and maybe have a better solution with everything in mid.

i have been running 2000 Pro for several years on the pc i built with no problems but had ben wanting to upgrade the os. The other day while i was at work and my boyfriend was home he sent me several instant messages throughout the day saying my pc had crashed to a blue screen, but since he is not as technically inclined as i am (which isnt saying much, lol) i told him to turn it off and i would mess with it later. so upon investigating i couldnt exactly figure out the problem. it had done 3 memory dumps, all 3 different errors... one seemed to be my nic, another involved my video card, etc. so i thought my mb may be on its last leg. so i figured this would be as good a time as ever to upgrade and do some 'work' on it.

so i wiped my hd, setup new partitions & reformatted and did a clean install of xp pro. had to install 3 times b/c i kept getting errors saying it couldnt copy the files from the disk, press enter to retry, etc and after pressing enter about 5 times (lol) it would crash to blue screen, but again each time the message pointed towards a different problem.

so after reading up on the install problems i ended up physically disconnecting/uninstalling my sound card, nic, 2nd hd, and 2nd cd drive so all i had was video, main hd and 1 cd drive then the installation went beautifally.