Replaced PSU after 115 to 240v overload

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gateway DX4200
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad Core (Fox Bengal motherboard)
Orig PSU LiteOn 300w
Replacement PSU Trust 370w

Definately a novice here so any advice will definately be appreciated. I relocated to the UK from US. Switched the PSU from 115 to 240 but for whatever reason (i don't think the toggle had completely slid to the 240 position). I burnt out the PSU at the capacitors. I have replaced the original 300w PSU with a 370w. The original PSU had the 4pin cpu +12v connector with a max output of 13A. The new PSU max is 15a. The amps may or may not be important but this lead seems to be the epicenter of my current predicament.

Here is the problem: when connecting the 4 pin lead the system led light comes on and is attempting to power up, the cpu and case fans engage but it quickly goes off. I can hold the power button on but it will only turn on and off and only runs for about a second each attempt. if the 12v is not connected, but I leave the 24 pin lead connected, the led light indicates that it is in sleep or standby. in either case, their seems to be no boot up at all. there is no signal being sent to the monitor to indicate activity at the motherboard or even that the bios is booting.

Have I fried the motherboard?

Actually Amps don't matter (well they do and they don't)
Basically Amps are pulled by the load, if the load only requires up to 13A (of course it won't be that high though) the Power Supply will only supply that amount ie 13A

By the way, it's not the same though when people touch live AC circuits though, because they make an excellent bridge from positive to negative, this pulling the maximum amount of Amps available ie 15Amps (mind you it only takes 5 amps to well kill you, not mA (miliAmps) as some think, as this would need to pass through the resistance of your body first, then 15mA would do it ;))