Resolution problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm not technically savvy and I have a question that will probably be very simple for many of you to answer.

When my dad's computer was hooked up, the screen displayed a very wide view, and the print was very tiny. He has Windows XP. I clicked into Control Panel, Resolution and observed a sliding scale I could choose. I slid it all the way to the left, and inadvertently choose to keep it that way. Now the screen is so huge, I can't view it in its entirety, and I can't access that same sliding scale to change it back.

After you finish laughing, can you tell me what to do about this? I apologize in advance for the stupidity of this question, and ask for your mercy and your help.

Thanks.

Hey Paula,
I can say that you haven't been the first person to have this trouble. There are a couple of things to try...

First:

Boot into "Safe Mode" by pressing F8 while the system is booting before "Windows" is displayed. Once you are at the "Safe Mode" desktop, right click on an unused section, and select "Settings". You should be able to modify the settings enough to resize the screen to a more usable size.

Another thing:

If you can go to Start, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, select System Restore, and select a day before you changed the resolution, or for that matter, a day where your father's system was displaying correctly and just reboot the system