Soldier needs computer help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Howdy. I am a soldier in Afghanistan and I am having major computer problems.

I have an Acer Aspire 5000 with an AMD Turion 64 running Windows XP.

I was having a STOP: 0x0000007E message that would happen infrequently, but started happening more often when I converted my .wma files to .aac files into iTunes (it happened everytime I did several conversions at a time into iTunes).

I tried a few things to repair it. Now my computer starts up extremely slower than normal and after it has started up, it crashes with a new error -- STOP: 0x000000D5. It saws the culprit is an int15 sys file in my ACER recovery folder. I've checked that folder and found the only version of it I've loaded during all this and I've deleted it. But it's still starting up slowly and locking up.

It's not like I can run my computer over to Circuit City and have then repair it. I'm stuck. My computer is my lifeline to home as well as my blog.

Please help!

The first error is a sign of having incompatible or faulty hardware. The second one is usually related to memory failure, if I remember correctly. So your laptop's RAM has probably gone bad. I may be wrong though, so wait for others' opinions to flood in.

More info

Here's some more info that might help determine the cause.

I get the blue screen with the following error message related to the int15.sys:

"The driver is attempting to access memory after it has been freed."

Then later it says:

"STOP: 0x000000D5 (0x92A80F80, 0x00000000, 0xF09FB537, 0x00000000)

int15.sys address F09FB537 at F09FB000"

Any guesses?

STOP 0x0000007e

Hi

This patch for Windows XP fixes a bug in Windows XP that can cause a STOP 0x0000007E error in aec.sys (also called the 0x7E stop error).

The full message may read 'STOP 0x0000007e (parameter1, parameter2, parameter3, parameter4) aec.sys'.