Strange Windows XP splash screen issue

steverino75

Hi All,

I am a rookie PC Technician learning my trade and a newbie to the site.

I was hoping someone could help me with this little issue.

On boot up windows Xp stops at the splash screen and gets caught in the perpetual loading motion (a problem I have seen many times before) As per I have popped in the Windows disc and completed a repair. It did pick up errors but still does the same thing. I put the Hard drive in my test machine and it boots to windows but asks for windows activation blah blah but all is working fine. So I put back in machine and the same problem. I also then put a spare hard drive with xp in the first machine (the one with the issue) and again it has the same loading issue. So this rules out the hard drive but what other hardware could cause this issue. RAM? Motherboard?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.

Steve

What is the system specs of the system in question?

Try booting with minimum hardware, i.e. one RAM stick, NO Optical Media, only One HDD if there are multiple HDDs in this computer. If the problem persist & and if this system have more then one RAM modules, then stay with minimum hardware as suggested above but try booting with the other RAM Module(s) one by one. If that doesn't work, there is a reasonable chance that there is something up with the motherboard.

Hi Archean,

Thanks for your quick reply.

It is an ATHLON 64X2 DUAL CORE 4200+
MOTHERBOARD IS A asrock AliveNF6G-VSTA
1 stick memory 2048mb DDR2 533.