Task manager & system restore issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi:
I am a newbie to all of this, so hopefully I did everything as requested...here goes:
I have a Dell Latitude D630 laptop (1 yr. old), running Windows XP Pro, I use both IE and Mozilla FF browsers, and I can no longer access the task manager. I tried to do a system restore to an earlier point, but it would not do that either. This problem is recent, only started happening on this past Wednesday when I tried to take a test at school (using Questionmark software).

So I followed your 8 step protocol and they did not find any viruses, but found 3 items on the Malware scan. I'm attaching my logs. I do use my computer for some banking, so I was wondering if I am at risk for identity theft in addition to the computer issues.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Problem?

Just wondering why no responses...did I not post something correctly? Sorry if I offended, this is my first attempt at getting help from one of these message boards.

Hello michelc

You did things right.

Please download Combofix:
http://subs.geekstogo.com/ComboFix.exe

And save to the desktop.

Close all other browser windows.

Double-click on the combofix icon found on your desktop.

Please note, that once you start combofix you should not click anywhere on the combofix window as it can cause the program to stall. In fact, when combofix is running, do not touch your computer at all and just take a break as it may take a while for it to complete.

Combofix will create a logfile and display it after your computer has rebooted. Usually located in c:\combofix.txt, please attach it to your next post

Right after I ran ComboFix, I tried ctrl/alt/del and WAS able to access the TaskMgr ("At last," I thought).