Temperature Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neji49

I'm new to computer gaming and I have some questions. I'm getting an 8800 GTS(340mb). My question is a three fan air circulation system suitable for keepign my computer cool enough? I read the thread at the top and it said my computer should be aroudn 60 degrees celsius. I'm not exactly sure how hot the 8800 GTs gets nor am I sure how hot my processor gets. Is there a way I could figure out? Or could somebody tell me how hot the 8800 GTS gets? Or if a three fan circulation is enough?(I'm not sure if it involves any special fans or anything.

EDIT: It lists in techspots reviews that a 640 version of the card I'm getting hits about 73 under stress, but it doesn't mention if that's celsius or farenheit. Can somebody clarify?Also I'm using the fan that came with the card.

"a 640 version of the card I'm getting hits about 73 under stress, but it doesn't mention if that's celsius or farenheit"...

It's Celsius for sure. It depends where your 3 fans are located inside the case. The 8800GTS shoud have its own cooler too

73F under load? That seems very remarkable, especially if its on a stock cooler.

I think C is more likely.

Those kinds of load temps I believe is normal for the 8800GT. Some people claim that the stock fan speeds up only after hitting temps over 70C, so this card should run fine at 73C load temps.

Neji49 said:
I read the thread at the top and it said my computer should be aroudn 60 degrees celsius. I'm not exactly sure how hot the 8800 GTs gets nor am I sure how hot my processor gets. Is there a way I could figure out? Or could somebody tell me how hot the 8800 GTS gets?
The sticky thread is about processor temperatures, not graphics card temperatures. GPUs can handle higher temperatures just fine. My 8800 GTS 640M is passively cooled, it goes to around 90C when playing games.