Upgrading processor - question about heatsink and thermal grease

Status
Not open for further replies.

jledoux

I'm upgrading my computer from a 1.5Ghz Pentium 4 to a 2.2 Ghz, but since I've never done this before, I have a couple of questions.

First, a question about the heatsink mechanism. I purchased a 2.2 Ghz processor via ebay and it came with a stock intel heatsink and fan. The retention mechanism on this thing looks different (and possibly incompatible with) than what is used with my current heatsink and fan, but since I've never done this before I could be wrong. My current heat sink and fan has two silver metal clips on either side that appear to keep it clamped down. The new heatsink has a plastic frame or cage around the heatsink, with four vertical 'legs' or 'prongs' that look like they need to be clipped into a base that is designed for them, but I'm not sure my motherboard currently has such a base.

Are there different retention mechanisms that are used for pentium 4? And if so, what is the solution to my problem - should I get a different heatsink that uses the metal clips that my current heat sink uses? Or do I need to change the retention mechanism on my motherboard? Or is the new heatsink probably compatible with my current setup? Can I use my old heatsink to cool my new processor, or is it likely not sufficent?

My motherboard is a D845HV (intel), and it uses an mPGA-478 socket. The processor I have is a 2.2 Ghz 478 intel pentium 4.

I can attach some images of the old and new assemblies if that will help.