Very strange happening

learninmypc

This HP laptop , HP ENVY TouchSmart Ultrabook "4, has been functioning pretty good since I got it some months back as a gift. It has been reset to factory settings a few times.I use screensavers because I'm an amatuer photographer. This morning instead of going to the screensaver, the screen went black, wifi button showed I was off line & power button light was blinking. The first two times it happened this morning, I brought it back no problem. As I was getting to post a video on twitter, the laptop shutdown. OFF. I waited few moments, powered up & it gave me the option of trouble shooting, returning to w10 & others, I chose return to w10. I think it then asked if I wanted the US keyboard which I said yes to. It then started some kind of a scan of C drive which lasted a few minutes or so, re booted to desktop, I continued to do what I was doing & debated whether I should ask what happened?
I have reason to believe my laptop is virus free & malware free since I run Broni approved programs. Any thoughts? Simply directions if any, TIA :)

No back ups,(yet) I will be looking for a large enough USB to back up pics, music & such. Got this laptop 2nd hand on 7/2/18. No CD/DVD on laptop :(

First impression: HDD failing. You have backups, so get manufacturer's utility to test HDD.
After reading your post a few times, I didn't know if you meant HP or the harddrive manufacture o to get to the point, I googled hp harddrive test (or similiar wording) I did this; Perform a harddrive test, turn on computer pressing esc continuously. The HP PC Hardware diagnostics options, I clicked on the harddrive one, it took about 90 plus minutes & passed :) :)

Actually I meant maker of the HDD - which should appear in Device Manager. HP was happy which is good.

Does it display level of charge? Is this good? Does it charge properly?

It is likely to be 7-8 years old - which means battery (and charger) may be approaching end-of-life