Virus returning after fresh install of XP

Status
Not open for further replies.

c8ddymon

Hi everyone, I am new to techspot, but I have been having a huge virus problem lately so I did some research and found you guys. The problem I am having right now is with the infostealer.gampass virus. Last week, some how my dad got the virus on his computer, and Norton anti-virus said it could not delete the file. I then proceeded to format the computer, after formatting, I installed SP1, SP2, and used autopatcher for all of my other updates. When I was finished, I installed Norton again and after it installed, while I was receiving new updates, it started scanning and it found the infostealer.gampass virus as well as win32.popwin virus. There is a secondary hard drive connected to the computer so I thought maybe the virus made its way to the second hardrive and came out again when I installed the new copy of windows. I disconnected the harddrive and formatted the computer again. I installed norton, ran a scan and everything was fine. I then installed SP1, SP2 and autopatcher. Upon completion, I ran live update for norton, and again it came up with the viruses. I really do not know what it is. I do not know if the copy of autopatcher I have has been tampered with, or if it's the Norton. I read online somewhere that there are viruses that can co-exist in other areas of the computer, such as the CMOS battery or the Master Boot records. Is this true? If so, how can I resolve my problem? This has been a terrible headache thus far and it is still continuing. Some processes that were running, that I did not think belonged were:
MsIMMs32.exe
pohqlw.exe
kvsc3.exe
pykftz.exe
mppds.exe

Also, I ran norton in safe-mode and came up with these viruses..there are 23, and Norton says it has removed them this time, but I do not want to do anything else before I consult with you guys:
00011937.exe
00011946.exe
00011974.exe
00011987.exe
00011992.exe
00011999.exe
00012346.exe
00012353.exe