Would this work / be compatible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PoisonWolf

Hi guys,

I'm considering building my own PC, and I have never done it before. So far, I think I have gotten the right parts, but would like someone to help go through my list fo rme to make sure nothing is incompatible. I'm not going to be building it anytime soon, but I will once summer hits.

Usage:
  • 1) Average gamer, games like Counterstrike, WC3 are my thing. The only upcoming game that I look forward to is Diablo 3.
  • 2) Watch a lot of movies, streaming videos, etc.
  • 3) Everyday stuff.

I like my computers fast, I like to have a crap load of folders open all over the place. I don't need hard drive space because as I've mentioned, I like to keep them as small as possible and going for the best RPM at an affordable price. Also, I intend to have two monitors (second monitor could be 22 / 24"., so I'm guessing the GPU must be good to support resolutions at 1680 x 1050?. I currently already own a Samsung 22".

Having said that, here are the parts I've chosen.

1) RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case - Retail - $79.99

2) Rosewill RP500-2 500W ATX12V v2.01 Power Supply - Retail - 49.99

3) Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400 - Retail - $167.99

4) ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail - $114.99

5) G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail - $57.99

6) EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail - $134.99

7) Western Digital Caviar RE2 WD1601ABYS 160GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - OEM $59.99

8) LITE-ON Black 18X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model iHDP118-08 - Retail - $19.99