8300 mgpu + 8400 gs SLI Versus gt 240

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an 8300 mgpu which runs alright but I need a lot more for HD video-playback and I plan to buy a gt 240 but I wonder if SLI between the 2 gpus mentioned above (SLI) would perform better than gt 240 alone, since it doesn't have SLI. If you guys are wondering why I chose 8400 gs it's because my budget isn't that high so I chose it. I have like $120, very poor. I'm considering about buying 8600 gt too but nvidia recommended 8400 gs so I'm not really sure. I'm a noob at building PC. My step-dad built this PC for me but I just found out that this PC just can't satisfy my need for speed.

but I just found out that this PC just can't satisfy my need for speed.

You're not the first, and certainly won't be the last with this damned affliction.

In my opinion I would say go with the best single card you can afford. SLI (and Crossfire for that matter) present their own set of peculiarities, which include:
*video driver issues-single cards are much less likely to have problems with new games than multi-gpu setups. SLI/Crossfire may take more driver updates to correct issues as well.
*SLI/Crossfire will not scale linearly- the second card you buy that is the same price as the first card will only give to a maximum of 80% of it's performance, and more often very much less-sometimes multi-gpu can give worse performance than a single card.
*Less airflow through the chassis/more heat to dissipate
*Two lesser cards will usually use more power and power connectors than a single card.

I run a SLI rig myself- but unless
a. you are a hopeless tech addict
b. you have loads of excess cash
c. you are lucky to get a too-good-to-pass-up deal
d. need to game at max. settings at 1920x1080 resolutions (or higher)
Then I would advise the best one card solution within your budget. You can always buy it a friend to link up with when the prices come down or you find a steal on eBay.