Can't access google chrome

By Soapfaace ยท 14 replies
Apr 26, 2018
Post New Reply
  1. So I just got my computer upgraded. But when I got home and tried to access google chrome. It just wouldn't work. Neither YouTube or IE or any other search engines. But I'm connected to the wifi and steam and literally everything else works with online functions. Before I got the upgrades I could access everything no hassle. I have tried literally everything to figure out the problem and I have no results. I am in need of serious help about this ! I have run Malwarebytes. I have run avast smartscan. Uninstalled chrome. I have no cookies or cache. No exentions whatsoever. I just don't understand why this is happening
     
  2. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Posts: 8,368   +543

    Try downloading Google Chrome from here
     
  3. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,063   +1,338

    Every Windows system has IE; does that fail too?
     
  4. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Yes IE doesn't work either. Nor does Microsoft edge
     
  5. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,063   +1,338

    Use Start->Search; enter CMD and enter

    in the window, type IPCONFIG /ALL >myTCP.txt

    followed by NOTEPAD myTCP.txt

    COPY all the contents and Paste back here as a follow-up
     
  6. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Done that:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-EE55P87
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B0-6E-BF-D0-CB-EA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:8003:7932:d00:403a:a425:444c:63bf(Preferred)
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : fdcb:2da4:ff46:0:403a:a425:444c:63bf(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2001:8003:7932:d00:a9d3:3462:170:58eb(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fdcb:2da4:ff46:0:a9d3:3462:170:58eb(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::403a:a425:444c:63bf%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.111(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 27 April 2018 2:29:06 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 27 April 2018 3:29:05 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::1213:31ff:fe77:4ed2%14
    192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 246443711
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-21-AB-1E-3A-1C-1B-0D-96-D4-52
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix Search List :
    gateway

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6abd:20e2:12c2:6f76:addb(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::20e2:12c2:6f76:addb%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 134217728
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-21-AB-1E-3A-1C-1B-0D-96-D4-52
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  7. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,063   +1,338

    Good - - the configuration is all correct, but you have IPv6 active and home users never need that and we use IPv4.

    But before we do anything, let's try two simple tests:

    Get the CMD window again and type
    1. ping 8.8.8.8
    2. ping google.com
    Both should show something like
    The actual numbers are not important, just the fact that this is the FORM of what you see
     
  8. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=57
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=57
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=57
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=57

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: sent 4, received 4, lost 0


    Pinging google.com (2404:6800:4006:804::200e)
    Reply from 2404:6800:4006:804::200e: time=20ms
    Reply from 2404:6800:4006:804::200e: time=21ms
    Reply from 2404:6800:4006:804::200e: time=20ms
    Reply from 2404:6800:4006:804::200e: time=21ms

    Ping statistics for 2404:6800'4006:804::200e:
    Packets: sent 4, received 4, lost 0
     
  9. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,063   +1,338

    OK, this shows that your TCP is working correctly and the issue is in DNS name resolution IMO.

    Try these
    • nslookup yahoo.com
    • nslookup wsj.com
    • nslookup kusc.org
     
  10. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    In CMD?
     
  11. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.16299.371]
    (c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>nslookup yahoo.com
    Server: mygateway.gateway
    Address: 192.168.0.1

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: yahoo.com
    Addresses: 2001:4998:58:1836::11
    2001:4998:c:1023::5
    2001:4998:44:41d::3
    2001:4998:58:1836::10
    2001:4998:44:41d::4
    2001:4998:c:1023::4
    98.137.246.7
    98.138.219.231
    72.30.35.10
    98.137.246.8
    72.30.35.9
    98.138.219.232


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>nslookup wsj.com
    Server: mygateway.gateway
    Address: 192.168.0.1

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: wsj.com
    Addresses: 205.203.140.1
    205.203.132.65
    205.203.140.65
    205.203.132.1


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>nslookup kusc.org
    Server: mygateway.gateway
    Address: 192.168.0.1

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: kusc.org
    Address: 34.231.161.183


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>
     
  12. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,063   +1,338

    Well done. I see mygateway.gateway and gateway

    we seldom see a name on our DNS, suggesting strange software present.

    1. what version of Windows are you on?
    2. what antivirus software is running?
    Meanwhile, let's cleanup some basic stuff.
    (1) Disable IPv6 on your wired controller: perform these in the order given.
    upload_2018-4-27_15-54-59.
    On the Local Area Connect:
    upload_2018-4-27_15-55-39.
    Now CLEAR the box [ ]
    upload_2018-4-27_15-56-34.
    click OK and close Networking & Sharing.

    (2) In the CMD window

    • runas /user:administrator cmd (and give the password)
    • IPCONFIG /FLUSHDNS
    • NET STOP "DNS CLIENT"
    • NET START "DNS CLIENT"

    • netsh int reset all
      netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
      netsh winsock reset c:\winsockreset.log
      REBOOT the system

     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2018
  13. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I run windows 10 home edition
    And have avast antivirus
     
  14. Soapfaace

    Soapfaace TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Okay so I've got google working now. So I thank you so very much you've saved my life.

    But now is there any more steps or was that it ?
     
  15. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,063   +1,338

    Done. Don't use Add-ons, be careful what you click on, the Internet is like a dark Alley.

    Be sure to use EMAIL and Link Scanning :) {I use Avast too!}
     

Similar Topics

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...