Display Glitchy, Dont know Cause

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am running a computer with a nvidia Geforce4 ti4800 and a Gateway FPD1810 LCD monitor. Ive been running this computer for about 4 years now with no problems. All of a sudden this morning when i turned it on the display was very glitchy. There are squares and lines that almost look like static, and the blink and phase in and out. I had to disable my video card due to it freezing. without it running, i can run normal things but the screen is still glitchy.

I have tried system restore, replacing drivers, and opening up the box and checking if the card was loose, and nothing worked. I do not understand how out of nowhere my screen could just glitch.

I know it is not the monitor itself because when i push the configuration buttons on the monitor itself, the configuration options cover the squares. I dont think it could be spyware, because the screen starts to glitch even when its loading windows. once in a while the glitches will stop for about 10 seconds or so and then they start up again. and when i scroll up and down screens the lines get bigger and more messy until i minimise and maximise again.

I am at my wits end. This computer was expensive as hell, and anyone who can help me fix it deserves undying gratitude.

thanks.

Hi

Well, maybe a dumb question, but did you try a different monitor? You said you have been using the same monitor for 4 years? Maybe it's age is catching up with it. I've had monitors that seemed perfect, crisp and clear one day, then all of a sudden they start fading. It just happens. Well good luck.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Try a different monitor. If that doesn`t help, it`s your video card that`s faulty.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

Ya most old LCD monitors tend to give problems sooner or later. And also response times are too high for fast games or applications. thats y i always recommend good old CRTs.