Failed to Query TCP/IP Settings of the Connection

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry if this has been answered already... Anyway, I'm pretty new to making my own computer and I think I did everything "OK", well, until i noticed that my internet connection isn't working. I go to control panel > Network connections and try to repair the connection and i get "Failed to Query TCP/IP Settings of the Connection. Cannot Proceed". I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling the driver from the device manager. I also noticed that there are no yellow flags for it under my manager. The only yellow flag is for my audio driver. Oh, and it seems that i dont have an ip address either. I've tried calling my ISP and Microsoft for help, but yeah.. that didn't do much. :dead:

Oh, my motherboard is a LanParty UT nF3 250Gb (1394 Net Adaptor) with Windows XP SP2 installed on it. This happened right away too, so i cant just use system restore or anything like that.

So you actually have a FireWire network there? Or are you trying to set up ethernet?

Instead of using the silly wizard, right-click the network connection and see its properties. Make sure you have the TCP/IP protocol installed and enabled. See that the IP onfiguration is correct.

Erm, not too sure what FireWire is exactly, but i have my internet networked.. i even hooked my computer straight up to the modem with no change in anything. I looked to see that the TCP/IP protocol is installed and enabled and its supposed to detect the IP and DNS addresses automatically.

Which network connection did you try to repair? Was it "Local Area Connection"? If all you have is "1394 connection", then you haven't installed your motherboard and/or network drivers.

I am having the same problem. Did you solve yours?
Here is my problem:
On my laptop, using XP prof., my firewire is no longer recognized. So
I go into the connection for the 1394, under support and hit REPAIR.
It then gives me this error :