First time builder: no post/beep/video

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I'm a first time pc builder from the Netherlands, and I'm having trouble getting my setup to work. I'm using these components:

ASRock P5b Pro
Intel E5300 cpu
GEIL 2x 1GB DDR2-800
GeForce 6200 PCIe
IDE Samsung hard drive
Some generic dvd-rom drive, also IDE
300W power supply...

So, the problem. I hooked everything up according to the manual (except the green power LED, since there's only two pins on the mobo to accommodate the plug, while my plug requires three pins), turn the machine on and everything comes to life. Fans, hard drive, dvd drive... even the hdd led blinks accordingly. Everything seemed to work, except there's no beep, nor is there any video. So I tried to isolate the problem.

What I tried

• reseated the processor, heatsink and fan. I discovered that the thermal pad on the heatsink had melted, so at least the cpu is doing something... I have no reason to believe the cpu is faulty;
  • reseated the ram, as in lifting out one ram module to see if I might have a faulty module. I also removed both, as the mobo tends to alert you there's no ram installed. Didn't help either;
  • reseated the video card. The P5b Pro has no integrated graphics, it relies in a single PCI-e slot. I know the video card works properly in other machines, but still I reseated it. To no avail;
  • I plugged out all power drainers: the hdd and dvd drive. I thought it might be too much for the PSU to handle. Nothing;
  • I removed the CMOS battery and replaced it a few minutes later, in an attempt to reset the BIOS. Didn't work either;
  • I checked the DVI-to-VGA cable to my monitor, nothing wrong with it. My monitor works fine, as I use it for my Xbox on a daily basis;
  • next, I just took out everything again, checked the mobo for bent pins, checked the components for bad pins and reseated everything again according to manual, again, sans power LED. Same problem occurs;