FreeSync vs. G-Sync: 2017 Update, What You Need to Know

Julio Franco

Staff member
Price and quality notwithstanding, the only real reason to choose one over the other is the video card you are using.... Until Vega, AMD has no high-end cards that compete with Nvidia's 1080, 1080Ti, TitanX, etc... So if you want to game with a pricy adaptive sync monitor, your only real choice is GSync.... No AMD card can run high-end games at high-end resolutions past 40FPS....

Let's hope Vega changes this and gives Freesync a reason to exist.

A clear and well written article. Thanks!

I've been using an ASUS PG279Q (27" with G-Sync) for about 15 months and I'm very pleased with its performance. Mind you, it wasn't cheap (£700+) but the build quality and the picture are excellent. I'll be interested to see what the v2 adaptive sync technologies bring to the table.

I like the way freesync 2 is handling things - I havent had a FS monitor, but ive heard alot about certain models with flickering issues and stuff lately. Itll be cool to know that buying a freesync 2 monitor also means your getting good specs everywhere else too.

Where are the G-Sync 5K monitors running over DisplayPort 1.4?!
We've been waiting a very long time now.

Price and quality notwithstanding, the only real reason to choose one over the other is the video card you are using.... Until Vega, AMD has no high-end cards that compete with Nvidia's 1080, 1080Ti, TitanX, etc... So if you want to game with a pricy adaptive sync monitor, your only real choice is GSync.... No AMD card can run high-end games at high-end resolutions past 40FPS....

That may change on the 14th.. when the embargo is lifted. That said, Nvidia, sure to have its R&D by now.. could drop prices.

It's odd that if FS tech is essentially open to all.. that Nvidia doesn't stick both on their cards. It would give them more availability to pull people from other setups. I like G-sync over FS, but FS wasn't even an option when Gsync came out...