Hard drive failure -- just making sure!

Hello,

I am still learning, so hopefully this is an easy one, and I am welcoming suggestions! I am an engineer from 1990 who played in the business world since 1992, so unfortunately, that's the era and extent of my knowledgebase.

I am trying to salvage a dell laptop that stopped booting a while ago (hard drive not found). I am not worried about recovering files as I moved them all to a newer PC long ago.

I created a boot disk (CD) and started the system which shows the A: drive as the boot files and the R: drive as CD drive with additional utilities. The first thing I tried was cd c: and the response was "invalid drive specification"

> Is this the no-brainer sign the discard the drive and start anew?

PC:
Dell Latitude D600
Pentium M 1.4 GHz/600 MHz
512 MB Memory
WIndows XP Pro

Goal:
Create a working PC for kids to use (homework and exploring, not gaming), primarily internet browsing, MS Word, MS Excel.

Additional Questions:
> Is this PC worth spending a little $ to restore (new drive probably $60)
> Will I need additional memory, too (it seemd to work fast enough when I last used it)?
> If the hard drive is unreadable and I don't have Windows CDs how does one re-install windows (this was a pc retired by my prior workplace, has product key sticker, service tag, etc.)

Thanks!

It appears your hard drive is dead or damaged. Install a new hard drive, and run your reinstall. You should have no problems. But count on a long time for downloading updates using Microsoft Update.
One thing for sure, you need more memory for that Dell D600... I would put in 2 GB of Put in the largest drive you can afford. Be sure that your drive is either a SATA or an EIDE drive before you order a new one. As you probably know, that system has two memory slots for DDR PC2700. My suggestion would be to get two modules of 1 GB each... which will cost you about $35 to $40 per module, depending on where you buy them.