I use AVG 8.5, should I remove it?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I have been using AVG Anti-virus since 2006, and this was because it helped me clear my PC of viruses which even Norton could not detect back then. Ever since, I have been loyal to AVG and have been using it.

Recently, I bought a new laptop (a gem of a laptop, that is!) and it had Norton Internet Security pre-installed with a 60-day trial period. Now there were no problems with viruses until the it existed. Once the trial period expired, I completely removed Norton Internet Security, and downloaded and installed another 30-day trial with another e-mail ID. And after doing that, my laptop became terribly slow! (Yes, for a laptop having 4 GB DDR2 RAM, and a 2.53 GHZ Core 2 Duo!!!)

So, I removed Norton Internet Security 2010, and installed my good ol', trusted AVG. And now, as I type this, I'm running a complete system scan, and it detected Trojans in the setup files of AVG and Norton anti-virus, which I had downloaded from RapidShare!

To check their implication, I logged on to and joined TechSpot Forums, and read that AVG gives out a False Positive. Now even with that happening, I don't mind being extra-cautious 'cause it hasn't removed any trust-worthy files or applications.

So, why is that you suggest that I do not keep AVG on my system?

I'm running a complete system scan, and it detected Trojans in the setup files of AVG and Norton anti-virus, which I had downloaded from RapidShare!
?
:confused:

Well anyway, for others in similar situations (although doubtful)

Norton Removal Tool: http://service1.symantec.com/Support/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2005033108162039
AVG Removal Tool: http://www.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avgremover_en.exe

Restart

Install Free Avira Antivirus: http://www.free-av.com/

Oh and never download from Rapidshare without having a good updated Antivirus software, downloaded freely from the manufacture support page

Hi,