mssyn20.sys page fault in non paged area.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JKaye

Hi, I am new to all of this, and I am in need of some help with a blue screen issue that started after my daughter clicked on a link in facebook it was some sort of group message. The blue screen message is as follows: mssyn20.sys page fault in non paged area along with other items. Help

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

I can find no info for the mssyn20.sys file. therefore it`s suspicious and may be malware related.

Download the AVG Antirootkit programme. Disconnect from the net and install the programme, then restart your computer.

Run the programme and click the click "Perform in-depth search." Allow AVG to complete the scan. The AVG scanner will give the "Rootkit path"
* Select the Rootkit Driver by placing a checkmark against it and click "Remove selected items." Next, agree for the terms and conditions that is displayed by AVG and click "OK" to reboot the PC. Reconnect to the net.

Download and run the Blacklight programme. Follow all the instructions carefully.

Go and read this thread HERE and post a HJT log as per the instructions.

Let me know the results of the rootkit scanners.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

Okay, so I ran the AVG Scan, and I am unable to attach the result file I saved, so I will list them for you. I didn't delete them yet, because the response at the end told me that my system might not be rebootable if I deleted any of these. Will you take a look, and let me know before I go back and delete them:

C:\\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSSYNC20.SYS - HIDDEN DRIVER FILE
C:\PROGRAMFILES\INTERNETEXPLORER\EXPLORE.EXE - HIDDEN APPLICATION FILE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSSYNC20.EXE -HIDDEN APPLICATION FILE

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSSYNC20.tlb HIDDEN FILE

Your system has a rootkit infection. Have AVG Antirootkit fix those entries as per the instructions I gave you.

Then, do the following.