My computer won't start up even in safe mode, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,

I have a problem with my computer which is worrying me quite a lot! I was hoping some one might be able to help me!
Last night I turned my computer off and it did that thing where it says 'do not switch off computer, loading updates, computer will switch of automatically' (I'm a bit of a tech novice by the way - in case you couldn't tell!). So I waited for it to shut down, which took a very long time (it had 17 updates!). This morning I turned on my computer to see the screen with the options of 'start in safe mode; start in safe mode with networking etc etc' but none of these options would work. Everytime I tried to start windows XP in any mode it would come up with lines of text then just reboot again! I am very concerned as I don't have the XP disc any more and there is a lot of data on that computer I really do not want to loose! Can anyone help me??? Please!

You will have to take the computer in for repair, or to a computer expert friend. You may not loose any files, but because you have no windows disc, there is not much you can do without one, at this point

Have XP Disc

Hi again, thanks for your advice. I have been lent a Windows XP disc, however it is not the one I used to set up XP on my computer and I don't have the activation number/code for it. Is there anything I can do with this or is it useless?
I may be able to get the activation password if I need it. Sorry just trying to avoid dragging PC across the city and paying for repairs!

(Reposting this from a similar thread with an identical issue. This is not as refined a solution as LookinAround's, but could be faster and allows you to essentially make your own Windows boot disc)

Sorry to give you a runaround, but I've managed to find an alternate solution, as I ran into this very problem just today: ERD Commander!