Need help please with video card installation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so to start off I have pretty much no experience with computers so bare with me. I'm using a computer I got for Christmas and it was used it looks quite old, it is a Dell and my OS is Windows XP. The motherboard only had PCI slots so I got a EVGA GeForce 8400 GS with 512 MB DDR2 video memory from Tiger Direct. Before I bought it I had an onboard graphics accelerator or something like that. I did research on how to install it, tried it, and when I booted it up it worked fine until I got to the welcome screen, then it was just a blank screen, but I could hear it starting up. I booted it up in safe mode and it was working, I installed the drivers and figured I could start it up normally and it would work, but I still got the blank screen when I tried. It will still boot in safe mode no problem though. I have no idea where to start, like I said I have no experience with this, if you need any more info just ask, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sometimes very difficult change-over, depending on the Dell model.
Please tell us more about the Dell Service Tag, or the hard ware configuration... particularly the weak spots such as the power supply, memory installed, hard drive, and age.
Some Dell Dimensions and Optiplex desktops are very limited in what you can to to update your video graphics... but there are some configurations that will work...
Whether they will boost your video graphics to what you hoped, depends on too many things.
Please tell us more.