Newbie Monitor Display Settings Question for Projector

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a total newbie here trying to set up my laptop (Dell 8100) to show Powerpoint Presentations with a video projector (DLP Plus V-1100). I've gone into my display settings, changed my Screen Resolution to 1280x1024 as per the instructions from the projector. I thought the monitor setting should be set to "Plug and Play" or maybe "Multiple Monitors", but to get the projector to show anything, the monitor setting ended up being "Default Monitor on Dell 8100." I've also checked the checkbox for "Extend my Windows desktop onto this monitor." If I drag my Powerpoint window way to the right it ends up being projected, but if I hit my F5 button which shows my Powerpoint full screen on my laptop, it doesn't get projected. Is there another way to set it so that my full screen Powerpoint gets projected. It seems kind of "Mickey Mouse" to show the Powerpoint window and have all the peripheral Windows desktop projected as well all around the room on the outside of my projection screen. Thanks in advance from a newbie.

- RJ

Did you boot the laptop while it was plugged into the projector? The projector should also be powered on.

Sorry I didn't mean for that to sound condescending. I meant that it should be powered on while you boot your laptop up. Treat it as a monitor.

HoopaJoop said:
Did you boot the laptop while it was plugged into the projector? The projector should also be powered on.

Sorry I didn't mean for that to sound condescending. I meant that it should be powered on while you boot your laptop up. Treat it as a monitor.