Novice overclocker in need of advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Failsafe

Hi, this is my first post and I'm a novice when it comes to overclocking ....

In readiness for a new C2D rig that I intend to purchase in the new year, I thought I'd try and get to grips with overclocking on my current PC.

I have a P4 3.0E Prescott, MSI 865 NEO, 2 X 512MB 3200 Corsair Value Select RAM (dual channel), Scythe Infinity cooler, Gigabyte 6800 video card (unlocked to 16,6) and a 430watt cooler master PSU.

I'd be really grateful for some advice.

So far I have my system running stable at 3.84Ghz.
I've done this by setting a 5:4 RAM divider so that I can increase the FSB to 256 with the RAM running at 409.
I have also increased the RAM voltage to 2.9v and the CPU to 1.55v.

I can run Prime95 with no errors (well for the hour or so I ran it) and it has a load temp of 52C.

I'm not sure about memory timings yet, although I have got my head round most other aspects.
They are 2.5 4 4 8 when running at 3.84Ghz

Is this about as good as I can expect from my current rig or could I get more from it ?

Also, have I gone about things the right way?

At first I tried to overclock @ 1:1 but the PC is not stable if the RAM is higher than 410 (even with the RAM voltage increased).

To be honest, I don't really need any more from it, I just want to understand this subject a bit better.

Cheers,

Failsafe

You have done a good job so far!!:)

I would advise more case cooling if you haven't already done so already as overclocking heats more than just the processor up!!

I personally run plenty of extra fans (9 at last count) and have found it possible to squeeze a little more out of my system!!

A slot cooler close to your graphics card is a good example, but don't put one near the gpu fan as slot coolers suck air out only, i have mine on the back of my graphics card!!

I hope this info is of some use to you!!:)

[edit]