Problem Installing GAIM!

Status
Not open for further replies.

young&wild

I have just installed Red Hat 9 yesterday after almost 2 years of hesitation. I went online to download XChat in RPM package form which is pretty friendly.

The trouble came when i decided to replace the existing version of GAIM(0.59) as it seems to be pretty old and doesn't support MSN. Did the same thing downloaded a RPM package which i m very sure is for Red Hat 9 as it contains i386-RH9 in the file name.
Double clicked the package and the package gets extracted but the prompt telling you the size of the program to be installed did not appeared. Instead the window suddenly vanished.

My question is do i need to install something else? Please be patient with me, I am a newbie to Linux and don't know anything about UNIX coding.

Thanks for the help!

Pretty GUI things for system administration are evil.

Open command prompt and run 'rpm -q gaim'.
It tells you what version of GAIM you have installed. If it occurs that your double-clicking the package didn't work (it reports the old vesion), go to command prompt, navigate to the directory you downloaded the package to and run 'rpm -U gaim-package-name.rpm'

BTW, if you want to use MSN, take a look as AMSN http://amsn.sf.net

Thanks for the help Nodsu. I have just tried the command you have given me. It works, but i get the following an error that the following are needed for the gaim installation package.

libgtkspell.so.O
libtk8.3so

Are these extra files i nd install?

You need to install gtkspell package (well, actually you don't need it, but things will get dirty). Get it from gtkspell.sf.net.

I think you made a typo in the libtk file name needed, but I'd bet you need to install/upgrade the tk package.

www.rpmfind.net is a good place to resolve dependencies. You just type in the file name needed in the search and it returns the packages that supply it. Then you just look up the package for your Linux flavour.