Requesting advice for building a budget gaming PC

What's the most important thing when it comes to gaming?

• Ram

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Monitor

• Sound card

• Total voters

SirDigby

TechSpot Elite
As far as my knowledge can take me, I'm still a noob compared to the collective knowledge of my fellow tech spot members, who, after a year of membership and advice, I call my friends.

Te help I request is as you may have guessed, I am look thinking of building a gaming PC, with a low budget.

My budget is :
Currently : £160 - £160
(-£40 for holiday) - £120
+£40 August pocket money - £160
+ (£250-300) Results Day - £410-460
+£40 September pocket money - £450-500
+£40 October £490-540
+£40 November £530-580
+£40 December £570-620
(-£120 for GF Christmas+Birthday) £450-500
(+£100-150) Christmas £550-650

Sorry, had to do the math and thought I'd share it with you!

So I could potentially have anywhere between £550 and £650

Now for my minimal specs :
Any Graphics Card above 1000 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html)
At least a quad core
Water cooled
Sound card not too important
6GB RAM

If anyone finds a setup that fits this then thank you so much for your time and effort!

I vote for the graphics adapter as being the single most important factor in a gaming PC.

Out of your choices the monitor would be the second most important. However without adequate power to the graphics card it would be rendered useless, so I believe the Power Supply would be the second most important factor in gaming.

With CPU gaining in performance and becoming less of a factor in gaming, I would give the CPU the third most important position.

If you had included the Power Supply and CPU in your pole above, I would have made the monitor fourth most important factor. After all what good is being able to view a good picture if you can't produce the picture with better quality parts listed in the top three I mentioned above.