Things I was unprepared for as a lead developer

Matthew DeCarlo

Staff

Editor's note: Guest author Pascal de Vink is a software engineer at TicketSwap, a creator of (connected) stuff with a passion for the web and a co-organizer of AmsterdamPHP. This article was originally published on dev-human.

I've been a lead developer for 2 years. It has been quite a ride and there were a lot of things I was unprepared for. I've always been a software engineer, mostly involved with the actual code. People tell me I have a very natural way of leading, which is probably why I was asked for the job. However, I never before considered what it takes to lead an entire team of engineers. I wish I had more preparation beforehand. So to give you, the reader, a head start, these are the topics I was unprepared for, so you can hopefully be a better leader than I was. Mind you, I didn't fail on all aspects, but most caught up with in me at one point in time.

Way less developing

Although this might or might not seem obvious, the simple fact is that a role as leader requires you to have more of an overview and less of an in-depth knowledge about what’s going on. I didn’t realize this until I was a couple of months into the job, which made me always struggle with wanting to know more about the in-depth problems and not having the time to do that. I had less hands-on time with code, but people still looked up to me to provide answers or insights to very specific problems they had. Way too late I learned to harness the knowledge of the entire team instead of trying to be the know-it-all. Knowing who had specific knowledge about what part of the system was much more valuable in my role and took a lot less time to achieve. It was a lot less fun than diving heads-first into the code though.

Delegating