Upgrade or Start From Scratch?

andrewdoyle88

Hi Everyone,

I bought a gaming PC back in 2005 and I am still using it as a family desktop. It is a Dell XPS Gen 4 partitioned running Windows 7. Anytime I play any games it is very choppy but it is an old computer. My question... I want an up to date gaming computer capable of smoothly handling heavy gaming so is it worth upgrading or better off starting fresh? I know my way around a computer but I am by no means an expert so any input would be appreciated!

A few specs:

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4EE, 3500 MHz (13 x 269)
Motherboard Name Dell Dimension XPS
Motherboard Chipset Intel Alderwood i925XE
System Memory 3072 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (07/15/05)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
Monitor Dell 1905FP (Digital) [19" LCD] (T61164AEAATQ)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Creative EMU10K2 Audigy / Audigy 2 Audio Processor

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 266F
IDE Controller Intel(R) 82801FR SATA AHCI Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive WDC WD2500JD-75HBB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive WDC WD2500JD-75HBB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8631 ATA Device (DVD+R9:2.4x, DVD+RW:16x/4x, DVD-RW:8x/4x, DVD-ROM:16x, CD:40x/24x/40x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
Optical Drive SAMSUNG CD-R/RW SW-252S ATA Device (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)
SMART Hard Disks Status Unknown

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 238409 MB (161484 MB free)
E: (NTFS) 238409 MB (128049 MB free)
Total Size 465.6 GB (282.7 GB free)

Upgrading a 6 year old PC is simply a bad investment. Plus, its often difficult to do any substantial upgrades to an OEM PC.