What Ever Happened to Winamp?

I've been using Winamp since 1998 and until a couple of years ago. It's been great at the time, but what a pity not having any REAL update since around 2005... Right now I'm using Audirvana for it's catalogization abilities.

Soda stereo? I see you are a man of culture. Yes winamp was epic. I used until I found out I could play mp3s with mpc hc in 2006. Loved milkdrop music gfx. But winamp 5 became bloated. Winamp3 is the way to go

"So, why would you still use Winamp?"
Because it's lightweight, fast, efficient and still does the relatively static requirement that it was designed for?...

"But even with 40 million songs on tap, there’s a significant gap between what I want to listen to and what is available on streaming at any given time."
That's been my problem with the usual dorks who say "But I just don't understand why anyone would own a DVD / Blu-Ray player in 2020 when you've got Netflix". I do have Netflix and Amazon Prime as well and both combined have barely 5-10% of the catalogue size that DVD + Blu-Ray do. So if your taste in movies is somewhat more varied than Michael Bay, Marvell Super Heroes or the narrow slice of what gets offered in the usual 5-10 year "gap" period that fits in between lacking the very latest movies and simultaneously lacking most classics older than a decade, streaming may be a complimentary service it but it ain't even close to being a "replacement" technology for being able to own from a 10-20x larger choice, even ignoring the way half the catalogue disappears on / off every 2 years or so for "rights" reasons (which certainly doesn't happen with my collection of CD's, video games or books...)