What parts would I need to build a good gaming computer?

And is it hard to actually build a computer.
I've had no experience building a computer before but I'm not bad with computers in general, I just really need to know what I need, where I put them and how do I get it working.
I've got a bit of a budget roughly £600-£750
someone help? :(

What are you using the computer for? e.g. gaming (if so which games), video encoding or just general usage?
Does the budget include the monitor and peripherals and do you have any parts you're going to reuse (e.g. DVD drive, hard drive, case, etc.)?

Well in the title OP mentioned he wanted a good gaming computer, so let's assume its for the likes of BF3, Crysis, Skyrim, etc?
750 pounds is more than enough for a decent gaming computer.
Just a heads up before you buy the parts and everything, make sure you do your homework. watch a bunch of 'how to' videos (youtube have a great variety), and maybe find some of the more... personal parts yourself (like the Case, or how much RAM you want, or whether you want an SSD, etc). we can help you choose parts, and we can advise for/against certain parts, but I find it's usually better when one picks all the original parts out for themselves.
apart from that, further information on your behalf would help us help you. like slh said, we need to know things like:
Does the budget include the monitor and peripherals and do you have any parts you're going to reuse (e.g. DVD drive, hard drive, case, etc.)?

Also to answer your first question, no it is absolutely not difficult to assemble a PC.