Windows crashes after a few hours in RAID 0

Status
Not open for further replies.

Everlong18

I bought two new hard drives (Seagate 160GB DB35.3 SATA drives). They were cheap and I needed them quick, so I bought them to test RAID 0 on as I've never used it before.

So I set it up and downloaded the latest RAID drivers for XP and Vista (upgrade with Vista upgrade disk). Got Vista up and running and began playing games on it. Then a few hours later the PC began to freeze up and I could only just get to the start menu to restart it.

It was taking like 30mins to restart, so I did a cold reboot and restarted, but when it got to the bit where Windows was suppost to load, it just stayed at a blank screen. I put the Vista recovery disk in and it said the OS loader was missing.

So I just formatted and then used XP with the latest RAID drivers, but a few hours after getting it up and running, the same thing happened when playing a game and it just stayed at a blank screen after restarting.

I gave up with RAID 0 and just used Windows XP on a single drive and I've had no problems with it. Not crashed once and Windows loads/restarts fine and quickly.

I'm wanting to upgrade to Vista Ultimate x64 next week in my quest for testing new things, and wouldn't mind getting RAID 0 because from the few hours I used it with Vista, it ran great with it.

I don't understand why the OS loader went missing. Would it be a problem with the hard drives? I use the onboard Nforce MediaShield RAID controller on the M2N-SLI Deluxe motherboard. My friend uses the same controller on his PC and his RAID 0 runs fine and not had any problems.

on a RAID-0, any error on the hd that impacts the integrity of the partition,
will instantly lose ALL DATA -- even files that were not in trouble.

this is a side-effect of files spanning volumes. you need a backup plan to
avoid/recover from all raid-0 errors. BIG expense for such a trivial performance gain :(