Absolute beginner ..............

Status
Not open for further replies.

vega

I'v just been offered an slk 700 cooling unit by a friend with which I aim to replace my cheapo amd 1.7 heatsink and fan.
Presumably, this new unit will bring the temperature of my 1.7 from 41 degrees centigrade down to a level where my cpu can be overclocked to a reasonable level but the problem for me is this - I currently use a gigabyte 7dxe mothgerboard which includes easytune 4 - is this the sole means of overclocking an amd processor?

You can alter settings in the BIOS (probably just fsb, don't think gigabyte provide multiplier access in their BIOS'). Also their should be jumpers or dipswitches on the motherboard for setting the clock multiplier. So EasyTune isn't the only way to overclock. It is quite handy though :D

Just be aware that increasing the fsb increases the memory clock as well, so your memory needs to be of a decent quality that is rated high enough that it will handle the faster speeds (PC3200 or so would be best, PC2700 is 333Mhz ram). Also the PCI bus speed is worked out via a divider system, so 133/4 = 33.25Mhz.
For 166 fsb the motherboard needs to support a 5th divider, 166/5 = 33.2Mhz. With speeds over this normal clock speed PCI devices may not function properly and cause system errors and instabilities. I don't think the 7DXE supports this divider so your primary way of overclocking is going to be increasing the clock multiplier. If you get a decent fan for that SLK-700, you should be able to up the multiplier a couple of notches. I know I stepped up my 2100+ Tbred B to 2.171Ghz from 1.73Ghz when I got an SLK-800 and 27CFM 80mm YS-Tech fan.

Any other questions regarding your overclocking attempts, feel free to ask the forum ;)

Which core of XP is it that you have?