My computer keeps crashing and then blue screen appears. I have no idea why.

Well i'm not very good at explaining but i have reached a very desperate point now since it happens almost every day. My computer will be doing ok and then suddenly it will freeze, crash and then a blue screen will appear and nothing i do seems to get rid of it. I've tried scanning my computer for viruses with Norton 360 and McAfee Security Scan Plus but it says everything is fine. It doesn't happen when i go on the internet, it just happens when i go on applications like games. I have done all the right updates too. :S It is very frustrating and confusing. Does my computer lack memory or space? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Do you have both Norton 360 and McAfee Security Scan Plus installed and working in real time protection?

how much ram do u have installed? i have 4 gig, 2x 2 gig sticks and alls i know is i had a similar problem but i opened up my case and took one of the ram sticks out running on 2 gig ram and no crashes. So u can try that ?

yes both are working correctly but i don't think it's a virus causing it. And i might sound stupid saying this but how do i check how much RAM i have? Thanks for the suggestions too ^^ If it helps i have windows vista?

Here is the rule on security software running in real time protection: ONE antivirus, ONE Antispyware/Malware, ONE firewall OR ONE Security Suit.

Otherwise they will conflict causing system issues and crashes. Between the two get rid of McAfee because it has very poor ratings. Make sure you use their special uninstall tool to make sure all drivers are removed.

Once done, how is your system running?