Need help deciding external hard drive

tpw

I like to know is 500gb seagate external hard drive is good choice. It plenty of space for me but like to know what to look out for I found used one for $35 since money is tight right now it seem like good deal. And need to back stuff asap computer getting full.

Is one brand better than the other far as seagate vs western digital.

It's personal preference really. I won't touch SeaGates personally since as a tech, I've had a bad run with them over the last 5-10 years. I use WD drives and have for the same time period, haven't had a failure yet. I have 3 in my current machine. But having said that you'll get people who don't like WD either so, again personal preference.

$35 for a used one isn't bad, not too much to lose. As with anything, backup means just that, having it in more than one place.

Hi, I use a 320GB Iomega 'Prestige', which is lightweight and small, 130mm x 85mm x 15mm. I keep an image of my Windows7 on it, and that takes up about 60GB. Peace of mind if the 'C' drive fails, not to mention 2 years worth of MS updates!
The Buffalo Drivestations are well rated by the PC magazines, but not used one myself.

I use a 750gb WD Passport Essential (USB 3.0). I like it. It's much faster than my old 500gb external HDD from the same manufacturer; and is a joy to use, actually. Like mike 1959, I keep an image of my OS on it, some music, photos, and a good number of work-related documents. It's pretty sturdy, as well: I've dropped it a couple of times and it's still doing what it's supposed to do.

I'd agree with Norbur: $35 for a used 500gb external HDD doesn't sound like a bad deal. I've not had any experience with SeaGate drives, though.