Pc too loud?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vlatko

hy all!!
i recently bought myself a new pc, after succesfully saving up for almost 5 years :approve: , and i'm quite pleased with it.

my specs are the following:
abit an8 sli
amd sempron 3500+ (venice core)
1Gb DDRAM
Gainward GeForce 6600 GT 128 MB 128 Bit high-speed DDR 3 memory "Golden Sample"

i'm actually a newbie in "high end" pc's, i'm not even sure if my pc qualifies as a "high end" pc. what i'd like to know is this. i noticed when i start up the pc it's not loud at all, it's pretty silent, i can do everything it's still silent. but when i load up a game, the noise becomes much louder. it's like it shifted into 7th gear. :p and when i exit the game it's still loud. if i shut down or restart it's once again back to being silent.

as i said i'm pretty new with this so i'd like to know if that's normal? i'm afraid that there's something wrong with my new baby... :D

It's hard to say without hearing it for myself, but you may have a faulty fan somewhere in your computer. Can you open up your case and try to identify where the noise is coming from? Does the extra noise you are hearing sound like it could be a fan?

Another possibility would be your optical drive (cd drive or dvd drive)....

mmm... it could be the Optical Drive... if its loading stuff from a dIsc... (not a full installed game)...

it coulde be dusty fans too...

Well it's not the optical drive as all games are played directly from the hard drive.

I think I may have found the reason of the noise. I have installed the "uGuru" utility that cam along with my motherboard cd. I opened the "OC guru" for overclocking and looked around. I found there are 7 presets to choose from.
I didn't mess with anything as I really don't get these things. default was turned on and the settings are these, look attachments.